The Historic Saint Paul Community Church received historical landmark status in 1996. While weekly services are no longer held, the Church does host funerals, weddings, homecomings, community events and guest church services.
Located at 14730 Sugarland Lane, Poolesville, Maryland 20837, the Church was the heart of the Sugarland Forest Community. Patriarchs William Taylor, Patrick Hebron Jr. and John H. Diggs, purchased this parcel of land from George W. Dawson, a former white slave owner, on October 6, 1871 for the sum of $25.00. The founders of the community belonged to the Allnuts, Dawsons, Pooles, and Brewers.
Pictured on the left is the original church, The Sugarland Forest Methodist Episcopal Church, built circa 1871 was destroyed in a fire. The current structure was built in 1893 by W. Scott Beall. In 1930 a community hall was built and later destroyed circa 1988. Earlier church names include Curtisville M.E. (1880) and Taylor’s Chapel (1890).
The current structure stands as a testimony and tribute to our heritage and the founding families of the community.